July 22, 2020

To Mayor London Breed and Board of Supervisors:  

This letter serves as an appeal to your office that the City and County of San Francisco, consider creating and designating the Hayes Valley Neighborhood a Tent Free Zone. The undersigned hereto, wish to implement such a plan out of grave concern of the adverse impacts of the homelessness issue and the results of the spontaneous encroachment of our public spaces and streets with sprawling tents and encampments. These encampments have adversely impacted the overall quality of life, health, safety and general welfare of all residents and businesses of Hayes Valley. We ask that you hear the many voices of Hayes Valley.

Undeniably the homelessness issue as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic has had a greater light cast onto it. The present day conditions that accompany sharing our streets with those that are unsheltered has developed into something seriously insurmountable. The magnitude and scope of its affects on this neighborhood is something that needs to be cured. We are relying on your help. Unfortunately the current system that is in place is failing to serve our community needs. Many of us do not feel safe leaving our homes or walking to and from on our own streets.  Our quality of life is diminishing while our neighborhood streets are filled with human waste and filth. Residents and businesses alike are experiencing an uptick in theft and vandalism. The appeal of living and conducting business in our neighborhood is on the decline. Hayes Valley’s unsafe and unsanitary conditions are at the forefront of our demand.

It is because of these conditions we hereby demand that Hayes Valley be a tent free zone and have existing encampments be permanently removed.  In order to maintain this goal we want to work with your office to cement a sound plan to prevent a re-population of encampments. In order to assure accountability that Hayes Valley remains a tent free zone we also request that an advisory committee be formed, consisting of residents and business owners, to work in conjunction with the city’s efforts.

As a cultural hub, we look forward to a collaborative partnership with your office to achieve our goal of a better working neighborhood with a designation of a Tent Free Zone. 

Co-signed By The Following Businesses and Residents:


  • David Alexander, Papito Hayes
  • Ramiz Yousef, Nabila’s
  • David Bass, Sugar Lounge
  • Angelo Sannino, Doppio Zero
  • Fabricio Wiest, Suppenküche
  • Ed Reckers, Red Bridge
  • Evan Rich, Rich Table
  • Cagri Aslaner, Paolo Shoes
  • Michael Rivera, Oak and Fort
  • Sergio Frigerio, Il Borgo
  • Aria Critchfield, Cotton Sheep
  • Beau Timken, True Sake
  • Nicholas Cresta,The Epicurean Trader
  • Rachel Reed, Azalea
  • Jimmy Shen, Otoro Sushi
  • Shirley Ng, SF Wine and Cheese
  • Alessandro T Paguvca, Italian Homemade Co
  • Charlie Katout, Nick’s Market
  • Solomon Tesfui, Planet Cafe
  • Rajinder Singh, Victoria Liquors & Grocery
  • Wayne Huang, Namaka Sushi
  • Steve Kovacs, Zala Management
  • Liza Anongchanya, Azil Boutique
  • Mitchell Durkee, F. Dorian
  • Many Bissinger, Marker & Moss
  • Jeroen Bik, Kline Epstein & Parker
  • Gabriel Bentura, Little Gem
  • Said Mannan, Grove Street Market
  • Jake Lahr, Calikites
  • Jennifer Cosguen, La Boulangerie SF
  • Kathryn Sandreto, Acoté
  • Marc Sempere and Jocelyn Bulow, Chez Maman
  • Hyes Woo, Ebb & Flow
  • Cris and Ben Ospital, MAC Modern Appealing Clothing
  • Adam Tortosa, Robin
  • Eric Tse, See Saw Seen
  • Natalie Wu, Gough Express Cleaners
  • Tae Tse, Dompart Auto


  • Stephen Albair
  • Richard Johnson, Founding Member Hayes Valley Neighborhood Association
  • Bob Barnwell, Hayes Valley Public Safety Chair
  • David Robinson
  • Ali Anderson
  • Mich R
  • Aimée E. Schulman
  • Nancy Pratt
  • Benjamin D. Black
  • Blake Yarber

CC info

  • President of the Board Norman Yee norman.yee@sfgov.org
  • D5 Supervisor Dean Preston dean.preston@sfgov.org
  • Legislative Aide Kyle Smealie kyle.smeallie@sfgov.org
  • Assistant District Attorney  andrew.clark@sfgov.org
  • Chief Bill Scott sfpdchief@sfgov.org
  • Captain Paul Yep of Northern  paul.yep@sfgov.org
  • Commander Teresa Ewins teresa.ewins@sfgov.org
  • Deputy Chief David Lazar david.lazar@sfgov.org
  • Director HSOC Jeff Kositsky jeff.kositsky@sfgov.org
  • Director of SF Public Works Alan Degrafinried alaric.degrafinried@sfdpw.org

Since sending the above letter to Mayor London Breed, the following have signed our petition and have elected to have their names displayed:


  • Jen Pelka, Riddler
  • Charles Bililies, Souvla
  • Joan Hull, The Parsonage
  • Vikas Patel, Hotel Majestic and Super 8 Downtown


Manon Paquet
Catherine Enny
Nolan Astrein
Matthew Balthazor
John Kim
Jason Boehmig
Kenneth Cowan
Joseph Murphey
Lindsay Gartland
Chandler Bair
Shana Mahaffey
Michael Goldman
Carlos Lazalde
Gene Wieber
Laura Yarber
Lisa Charlebois
George Denny
HyeJin Yu
Danika Patrick
Ingrid Summerfield
Anna Belle
Barbara Wittrock
Alyssa Jennings
Alice Wu
Trang Nguyen
Hoiling Wong
Christopher Towne
Melinda Techler
Rilwan Balogun
David DeJonghe
Lee Jewell
Maurizio Franzini
Kevin Funk
Jen Pelka
Brian Nguyen
Rebecca Masur
Bryan Lane
Jay Miller
David Young
Elaine Stander
Callie Williams
David Lovell
Gloria Jackson
Sarah Lundmark
Deanna Sousa
Dan Bowermaster
Michael Lovrovich
Devang Bhatt
Pamela Vaughn
David Lutz
Michael Lordi
William M Cagle III
Sean Monoghan
Sally Hanson
Allison McCabe
Suzanne Ornelas
Earl Speas
Michael Patton
Kristopher Uber
Coco Guilhem
Bill Johnson
Nicolas Perewozki
Frances Neagley
Tim Palmer
Angela Barbus
Jon Hearn
Anne Wells
Regina McDonald
Joseph Burnham-Saeteurn
Marissa Burger
Liz Schwartz
Adi Wakankar
Madison Palmer
Tony Liu
Bobby Battista
Elizabeth Leu
John Carrillo
John Yelding-Sloan
Mandy Ma
Neesha Godbole
Tucker Stewart
Sridatta Thatipamala
Christopher Tarbell
Ryan Garde
Charles Bililies
Alan Marcus
Prithvi Nobuth
Honorine Anderson
Alyssa Conn
David Driver
Jack Lakes
Nicole Sinno
Patricia Cotter
Ariel Mendez-Penate
Brent Jones
Casey Barbarino
Joan Hull
Dhruv Malhotra
Kevin O’Brien
Linda Green
Arkady Itkin
Cali Garcia
Alex Anderson
Barbier Yon
Alan Si

Tracy Carter
Jennifer Astrein
Curtis Hampton
C Hyland
Daniella Costa
Sandra Mallon
Mark Bridges
Richard Zhu
Kevin McCoy
Rina Wang
Micah Kalsen
Sammy Leos
Debie Bisdorf
Mark Fantino
Joseph Kanuch
Amberlin Tannehill
Robert Eaton
Meghan Goode
Rebecca Masur
Valerie Kolomiets
Barbara Wittrock
Carrie Kakehashi RN MSN CIC
Peter Theunis
Colleen Campbell
Sean Cummings
Trang Nguyen
Peter Vizcaino
Stephanie Nip
Tanya Lekhtman
Bill Harkins
Josh Blackman
Allen Lin
Paul Jim
Robert Bowen
Jeanine Jue
Lily C
Alan Tripp
Jasper Tripp
Jason Hyde
Christian Miranda
Tanuj Dutta
Melody Elskes
Matthew Forsyth
Mike Gallagher
Helen Phung
Wayne Brooks
Dhaval Powar
Ana Canillas
Paul Tortora
Lenny Hanson
Sammy Patrick
Jesse Dhillon
Michael Ware
Laura Ware
Vanessa De Fabrega
Cagri Aslaner
Henia Carmel
Kaye Pamela
Hieu Pham
Shashi Shankar
Holly Hollenbeck
Peggy Malllison
Linda Green
Jim Zack
GabrIella Ascione
Nikki Bevis
William Michels
Kylie Bryce
Henia Carmel
Linda Green
California Walsh
Terrance Graven
Steve Browning
Paul MacMahon
Amy Anton
Mike Gottlieb
Janelle McCulloch
Michael Ware
Robert Anderson
Raphael Braschoss
Jonathan Smalley
John Goldsmith
Maud Sanchez Cuevas
Rosemary Cassidy
Vince Frankovich
Will Holleran
Eric Sandberg
John Thomson
Katia Alves
Dalys Pinentle
Margaret Moore
Mitchell Ragsdale
Jeff Cuartero
Richard Nemeth
Emily Tsai
Karen Schwartz
Matthew Bertram, MD
Bill McGee
Kenneth Duigenan
Feng Xie
Jonathan Staff
Christian Simonetti
Amrit Dhaliwal
Andrea Portillo
Richard Valdovino
Matt B
Shirley Ng
Kim Mizono-Scott